Cariñena, the designation of origin

Cariñena PDO, almost a century of history

Cariñena forms part of the pioneering group of designations of origin that were created in Spain in 1932, coinciding that same year, with the inauguration of the Oenological Station of Cariñena, the driving force behind new cultivation and production techniques.

The socioeconomic ups and downs of the time led to a long break until the eighties, which again propelled the PDOs to reach the relevant role they have today.

Logo Cariñena DO Protegida

The Cariñena PDO extends across the Ebro valley, spanning more than 12,249 hectares of vineyards and, as well as Cariñena, it covers the following towns in alphabetical order: Aguarón, Aladrén, Alfamén, Almonacid de la Sierra, Alpartir, Cosuende, Encinacorba, Longares, Mezalocha, Muel, Paniza, Tosos and Villanueva de la Huerva.

There are currently 33 wineries certified by this designation of origin, which bring together 1,520 winegrowers, and where white, rosé and red wines, crianza wines, liqueur wines and aged wines are produced under its protection.

The wine of stones, a sign of identity of the Cariñena PDO and a reflection of a region dedicated to the land and its wine

The varieties of grape accepted for its wine are, as well as the symbolic Cariñena: Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, white Garnacha, black Garnacha, Juan Ibáñez, Macabeo, Merlot, Monastrell, Muscat of Alexandria, Parellada, Syrah, Tempranillo and Vidadillo.

In 2011 the Cariñena PDO launched its impressive “El Vino de las Piedras” (Wine of Stones) campaign, which highlights the uniqueness of the fact that, wines of unsurpassed quality emerge from such stony terrain as Cariñena. A message that reflects the life of a region dedicated to its land and its wine.

Please, confirm that you are of legal age to drink alcohol in the country where you live

Always drink responsiblyThis site uses cookies: Terms and conditions of use